“Are you sad about having to go back to work?” … My Mother asked during her phone call to me this evening.

I had been off work for a two week holiday.

“Not at all,” I replied. “If I don’t go back to work, I don’t make any money… That’s how we play the game.”

And indeed, I had no negative feelings about re-establishing my working life routine.

I harboured no internalized “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times” going back to work angst.

Not that I didn’t enjoy my time away from work, but I found myself feeling good about what I do for a living, as well as the little parts of my workday routine.

For example:

The drive into work usually agrees with me, as the highway is quieter than when I worked days and I don’t have to worry about getting the sun in my eyes.

During my drive, I always have the radio tuned to CBC Canada. Alone in the car, for my half hour commute I listen to a radio show called “IDEAS.”

This program has introduced me to authors, books, ideas, and I like to consider it as a sort of “getting out of my bubble exercise” as I listen to people talk about their lives, interests and passions.

Arriving at work there is always an exchange of greetings and smiles. I happen to work with some very fine people, and it’s always nice to see and talk to them.

With any luck, while I am at work, I will find something to happily muse over while I sort through bucket after bucket of mail.

During the drive home I get to see the dawn.

And when I do get home I am greeted with boundless affection from my Bobby dog as we set off in the invigorating chilly morning air for a few minutes of quiet walking.

Before the sun has fully risen my daughter will have dropped off Sophie dog as she sets off to work.

And then with two dogs in tow, it’s time for tea, toast and then bed.

And so it goes….

If you were to ask me when my next holiday is, I couldn’t tell you nor do I really care.

For the moment I am happy in the present.

I wish the same for you…

Stats

