Tags

,

image

Even as the years went by Dr. Kildare (or Richard Chamberlain, the actor who played Dr. Kildare) never fell from our favour.

After they pulled his TV series in 1966 he made numerous appearances on television variety shows. There were also many movies such as the Three Musketeers, Towering Inferno, The Man In The Iron Mask, Shogun and Thornbirds.

He even released an album.

How mother loved to rant and rave about them all.

Now imagine my pleasant surprise when one day she told me that she had actually met Richard Chamberlain. She had spotted him in a restaurant while vacationing in Hawaii.

She then related to me how he had been eating alone at his table in the restaurant when she approached him and asked for his autograph.

“He was very nice,” was all Mother had to say.

And with that she ended the conversation.

“That’s it?” I asked as I looked at her with incredulity.

I was in the mood to have a little fun with her.

“Well, I did feel a little shy,” she replied.

My Mother?

Shy?

Really???????

It was then she noticed that I was staring at her.

“You do that know he’s gay don’t you?” She asked me.

I could only shake my head in bewilderment.

When I met the Nylons (an Canadian Acapella group) I gave each and everyone of them a kiss.

It didn’t matter….

They really didn’t have a choice.

So there….

That was at least one of my dreams come true, even if it wasn’t Richard Chamberlain.

And as far as I’m concerned….

Mother had her chance to make a dream come true…

And blew it by being “shy”.

(Insert Daughter to Mother smirk here)

Stats

