Okay, let’s get back to talking about the weather…

Believe it or not, there was one time when Mother actually welcomed bad weather. It happened in September 2013. It was the last time that I travelled by airplane to see her.

She dropped me off at the airport for a three o’clock afternoon flight to take me back home. I waited and waited as my flight kept getting delayed until it was eventually canceled at 5:00 PM.

The reason?

There was a myriad of thunderstorms hovering around New York City. No planes were being allowed to take off or land.

And wouldn’t you know it…

My connecting flight to Buffalo was in New York City.

Both my flights were rescheduled for the following day.

And so I called her and asked her to come and pick me up from the airport. She drove to the airport in record time and brought me back to her apartment.

As I remember, we had a very pleasant evening, and an extra twenty-four hours to be together.

Thank you Mother Nature.

Thank you God.

Okay…

Just one more weather story:

In the late 1990s, Mother and Jim spent their winters in Palm Beach, Florida.

They had rented a nice little condo on the twenty-first floor along the beachfront facing the ocean.

Mother once related to me the story of how they had spotted a tornado far off in the ocean’s horizon heading towards them.

Being on the 21st floor of an apartment building is not a good place to be when a tornado is heading towards you.

Well, she called my Grandfather who, in our family was called ‘Opa’.

He was a Baptist minister, missionary, and a true man of faith.

I can tell you that I have always believed that while he was with us here on earth, he had a personal hot line to God.

And so, she called her Father and told him about the tornado coming in off the ocean and heading towards their apartment building.

Opa promised to immediately pray for their safety, and that they would not be hit by the tornado that was currently bearing down on them.

What happened next is…

From their balcony, Mother and Jim watched the tornado somehow split into two. One tornado went to the left of them and the other went to the right.

True?

Well…. I for one believe her because Mother was never one to tell tall tales.

Stranger things have happened I suppose.

Either way, weather or not this story is true, it still makes for a pretty good story.

And I do love a good story.

