Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

image

Throughout the day, there was a steady stream of visitors. Not necessarily all friends or loved ones but counsellors, and staff as well.

All of them offered comfort and support. It was good feeling to know that mother and I were not alone.

In fact, I felt very blessed.

I was able to spend time with my mother, hold her hand and give her lots of kisses.

My main priority was to see to her comfort, and the rest would fall into place.

I didn’t want to think about all that right now. It was Mother’s Day, a day to be celebrated and a day to be thankful for.

I felt like the luckiest girl in the world.

After mother finished her milkshake she slept for the rest of the afternoon.

When the nurses came in to tend to mother it was just past 5:30 PM.

I took this as a cue for me to take my leave.

She needed to be bathed, changed into her nightgown, and have her personal needs attended to.

After giving Mother a hug and a kiss, I told her that I would be back to see her in the morning.

Then grabbing my Mother’s Day brunch bag I left the room.

As I watched through the door to Mother’s room, the nurses were already primping, preening and fussing over Mother like she was the Belle of the Ball.

And to me…

….that’s exactly what she was.

It was comforting to know that she was in loving hands.

Closing the door behind me, I felt grateful for such a wonderful Mother’s Day.

The first thing I did when I got back to her apartment was begin the laundry.

Next it was a matter of getting the garbage downstairs into the disposal room.

While I worked on finishing four loads of laundry I made several trips to the disposal room.

Then it was time to start making some phone calls and letting people know that Mother was in the Respite House for end of life care.

At about 8 o’clock I decided to open up my Brunch Bag and see what was for dinner.

To my delight I found a croissant, Brie cheese, strawberries, and Lindor chocolates inside.

My evening ended with an episode of BBC’s Sherlock, which was enough of a diversion from the day’s events to put me in the mood for sleep.

Tomorrow would hold new challenges and I wanted to be ready for them.

I slept very well that night.

