Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

image

This blog post was originally posted in September 2012 when I flew to Vermont to celebrate Mother’s 71st birthday.

Out of the hundred or so pictures that I took while visiting my Mother for her birthday this past weekend, I unfortunately missed my chance to take what would have been a very proud moment for me.

As you may or may not know, all my life, Mother has been trying to convert me from my usual red lipstick to wearing her shade of 24 carat ORANGE lipstick.

She was not successful.

Imagine then, my pleasant surprise when she met me at the airport on Saturday wearing RED lipstick.

I didn’t really notice at first as I got in the passenger side of her car where she was waiting. However, I did notice that there was something more vibrant about her, more fun.  As as I bent over to give her a kiss, she asked me a question that caught me quite by surprise.

“Didn’t you notice?” she asked.

“Yes,” I replied after taking a better look at her face.

“You’re wearing red lipstick, how wonderful!”

She then began to reach for the kleenex that was already waiting in her purse.

“Good,” she said, “now that you’ve seen it I can take it off.”

And so she did.  Thirty seconds later, she was back to her former self, clad in orange and all.

I let out a sad sigh.  So close, I thought.

Now that was one picture that I would have cherished… Mother wearing bright red lipstick.

I had my chance and missed it.

Maybe it’s just as well that I didn’t take a picture.

Mother would not have been impressed.

She did after all, put in on just to humour me…

…if only for 10 seconds.

However, the sweet memory of her in red lipstick will stay with me always.

Always.

