Tags

, , ,

image

Mother loved to tell me about how my Grandmother always called her “Strassenkoeter” as a child, which is German for ‘street urchin’, or even ‘wild mongrel’.

Apparently, Mother was always in trouble for one thing or another: staying out after dark, not coming home when she was suppose to, not informing her parents where she was going, or asking their permission.

There were times when my Grandmother was beside herself with worry, and would threaten her that if she isn’t more careful, the gypsies will steal her away from them.

However, upon hearing my Grandmother saying this my Grandfather would always disagree with her:

“You don’t have to worry about the gypsies stealing her, ” he’d say with a smile to my Grandmother.

“Because, I have no doubt that they will return her before morning.”

