image

Okay, this is how the story goes:

Certainly we have all had more than our fair share of…

“I saw Jesus…”

…in a Butterfly,

…on a piece of toast,

…on a pumpkin.

The stories are in all the weekly tabloids.

Well, one summer day I received a phone call from Mother.

“You’ll never believe what I found in the bathroom,” she cheerfully announced.

“What did you find in the bathroom,” I asked her.

“Jesus,” she replied.

That was not the answer I was expecting.

A lost earring, or contact lens, yes.

Jesus, no.

“What do you mean?” I asked.

It seemed like a reasonable question, and I’m not afraid to admit I was worried over how she was going to answer me.

“Well,” she began, I was sitting in the bathroom, looking down at the floor, and there he was right in front of me.

“You saw Jesus on the floor?”

“Yes, in the linoleum tile.”

All I could of think to say was;

“That’s nice Mother!” ….

Which was followed by me quickly changing the subject before it went any further….

And hope that this would all be forgotten by morning!

She never mentioned it to me on the telephone again.

Okay…  now fast-forward about two months.

It’s September 2011 and I am visiting my Mother for her birthday.

Also visiting her, is my cousin from West Virginia. It had been 10 years since my Cousin and I had last seen each other. There was fun, laughter, reminiscing, and even tears during the time we spent together.

One afternoon, as I sat knitting on Mother’s couch, I heard my Mother call my Cousin into the bathroom.  From what I could hear, she was trying to point something out to him.

“No… stand here, and look right there,” she advised.

Silence…

My curiosity was peaked.  I put down my knitting, got up off the couch and headed to the bathroom to check this out.

Sure enough, there they both standing in the bathroom and staring at the floor.

“What are you looking for?” I asked.

“Jesus,” Mother replied.

I shot her a look.

“No… Really!” she said looking me straight in the eye.

“You can see Jesus in the floor tile,” Mother insisted.

A cold shard of fear ripped through my heart.

My Mother has not only gone crazy, and in a very tacky way I might add. The last thing I wanted was to see a tabloid headline:

‘Vermont Senior finds Jesus On Bathroom Floor!’

How embarrassing that would be.

“Do you see really it?” I asked my level headed Cousin.

“Yeah,” he confirmed, “It’s right there…  you just gotta look at it like you do those optical illusion pictures.”

I squinted….
I stared…..

Yup, there he was.

Oh no, …. I was as crazy as they were.

The face that I saw was reminiscent of a “Jesus on black velvet” painting, you know, the ones that we were once so fond of.

Surely, some of you must remember black velvet paintings?

Even Elvis had “Jesus on black velvet” painting.  It’s hanging in his “Jungle Room”.

It took a few moments for me to work my way through a myriad of emotions. There was no denying it now…

Yes, my Mother has an image of Jesus on her bathroom floor.

How are we going to handle this?

Well, to make a long story short it was all forgotten within an hour…

Until about a year later, Mother again raised the subject of Jesus on the floor during our nightly chat on the phone.

She had told me that they had given her a new bathroom floor.

Further, she had expressly asked the workmen, not to damage the tile bearing the image of Jesus, but rather set it aside for her.

According to Mother, they complied without any questions.

When they were finished their work, they handed Mother the bathroom floor tile.

And now, I’m happy to report that this same tile is safe and in my keeping.

So…

Your mission, dear and gentle reader…

Should you choose to accept it…..

Is to find Jesus on the bathroom floor tile shown above.

This blog post, including the picture will not self-destruct in five seconds.

Why?

…Because Jesus Saves!

 

 

Hint: The image of Jesus is a profile view a near the centre of the picture Jesus is looking to the left. If you find him let me know 🙂

