Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

image

Musical artist Steve Winwood recorded a very popular hit during the 1980’s.

The song was titled:

“Roll With It.”

After having just missed our connecting flight to Rome, that was our applicable song of the day.

Further, I have a dear Aunt who once told me that when she is faced with a problem that seems almost insurmountable, she has learned that her best defense is just too…

…”Lean into it.”

That approach has worked for me too, on many occasions.

And now it was time to try that theory once again.

After clearing customs, Frank, Jen and myself were approached by a representative from British Airways.

We were informed that the next flight to Italy would be leaving at 11 a.m. That was a little less than three hours away.

In the meantime, we were invited to enjoy the executive class British Airways lounge for free coffee and breakfast.

We were then led down several hallways and through several password protected doors which led to a lounge overlooking the vast interior of Heathrow Airport.

The large lounge was very busy for only 7:00 a.m. in the morning.

And it was without a doubt, filled with the business-class elite.

How do I know this, you ask?

Everyone there was either dressed in a business suit or formal dress.

And there were no children.

However, it was not quite elite enough to serve anything for breakfast other than a Danish, cereal or yogurt.

We found ourselves a quiet corner with three empty chairs.

I was too flustered to eat.

Frank and Jen went to get some breakfast while I went looking for a telephone or computer terminal.

I wanted to get word to the limo agency that we would be late and not arriving for another four hours.

All I found was a coat check room.

I asked the nice lady behind the counter if she knew where I could find a telephone.

“No, I’m sorry,” she replied.

Of course, what was I thinking? This lounge is business-class elite.

Everyone here has got their own cell phone. Maybe even two cell phones: one for business and one for personal.

My next question:

“Do you know where I can find Internet service?”

“I’m sorry, but I cannot help you.”

Okay, that was it then. There was nothing we could do.

We would just have to ‘roll with it.’

I thanked her for her time, smiled, and made my way back to our table.

Frank was already working on a coffee and a pastry.

“Go get yourself something to eat,” he told me.

As I strolled from the pastry to the yogurt aisle I saw a man that I immediately recognized as Captain Jim Brass from the television series… CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, actor Paul Guilfoyle.

He was poking about, getting a spoonful of this, and a packet of that.

By the way he held his head low, and kept to himself, I gathered that he wanted to be left alone.

I managed to squeeze by him with a soft and sincere “Excuse me,” as I didn’t want him to think that I meant to invade his space. After grabbing some yogurt, I squeeze back through again (with a smile) and went back to the table.

Frank later mentioned that he had recognized him as well and noticed that he was carrying a CSI backpack.

Jen, who is the really big CSI fan in our family, unfortunately did not see him at all.

As I finished my yogurt, I saw Jen who was sitting across from me, already in her own little world.

She was wearing her shades, obviously comfortable with her feet up, and playing with her iPad while listening to her tunes through her earbuds.

Way To Roll Jen!

 

image

 

 

