Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

image

While touring the Vatican, our tour guide told us that the Pope has a weekly audience each Sunday morning in St. Peter’s Square at 9:30 a.m. He does this from his apartment window.

Frank and I knocked around the idea about paying him a visit, and then finally decided…

“Well, why not?”

We arrived at St. Peter’s Square by taxi at about 8:30 a.m., early enough to get a good view.

The overcast skies sporadically drizzled down on us as we watched the church going people neatly file into the St. Peter’s Basilica for Sunday morning mass.

Eventually, Jen got her knitting out and proceeded to put this waiting time to good use.

Both Frank and I contented ourselves with people watching.

9:30 a.m. came and went, and still no Pope in sight.

A group of policemen had gathered, and I mustered up the courage to approach them to ask what time the Pope will be making his weekly address.

I was told 12:30 p.m.

Bummer.

That was still two hours away.

We decided that another two hour wait in the damp cold weather would not be in our best interest, and Frank then decided that a visit to Campo de’ Fiori was in order.

And so, off we went…

Frank led the way while Jen and I fell in line behind him like obedient little ducklings.

Later on that day, I was able to FaceTime my Mother when she told me that she had watched Pope Benedict give his weekly audience on the evening news.

She told me that she was not able to spot us among the listening throngs of people.

It was then that I told her that the Pope had missed his chance to see us in St. Peter’s Square.

He totally blew it!

Stats

