Tags

, ,

image

After spending virtually our entire day in Florence in the rain, and with no nap I was not surprised to see that we had all slept well.

We had another free day. I opened my eyes at nine am, which meant that we had missed the buffet breakfast. Well, sometimes sleeping in is worth missing a chocolate croissant for.

There was only one thing that I had really wanted to do before heading out today, and that was washing out a few things just to get them drying.

And so I did, without any effort at all as a matter of fact. I had Jen drag out one of the suitcases under her bed, stretched out a hand towel, and laid our underthings on top, then pushed the suitcase back underneath the bed where they could dry in peace.

Without too much further adieu, we were out the door by 10:30.

For only the second time on our trip, we were met by brilliant sunshine.

Imagine that…

We allowed Frank to lead. After all he had been the one studying the maps all morning. If anyone had a plan, it was him.

We started heading down down one small street after another… through one alleyway and down another.

It was delightful.

You know, there are so many side streets hidden about in Rome, that if would take years of walking to visit each and every one of them.

And so… I make a conscious effort to notice every little nuance.

It could be a long time before I get another chance to revisit this same street.

I’m so grateful for every statue we come across, every street we traverse, every bite of pasta I consume.

Many times I have promised myself to try and remember each and every moment of this…

“La dolce vida…”

image

And so as Jen and I blindly follow Frank to destinations known only to him I find myself thinking…

“Life is indeed good this day.”

Stats

