Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When I was a young girl Mother kept saying to me
Que sera sera
What will be will be
That’s not the kind of thing that you tell a young girl
With her head in the clouds over a sinister world
What does a weak mind do with those cowardly words
Succumb to the voices, throw down their cards…

Oh….

I remember the night when they shot Dr. King
There was heartbreak and tears, still I heard the choir sing
The mourners stood tall, and they all stood as one…

Singing…

We shall overcome…
We shall overcome…

I didn’t listen to her then and I don’t listen now
My spirits unbroken
My head is unbowed
After all this time their clear voices still ring
They’ve drowned out my Mother and still louder they sing
Almost fifty years on and these words are still true
We’re still climbing that mountain Dr. King told us to…

We Are Singing…

We shall overcome…
We shall overcome…

