Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When it comes to favourite movies, ‘Contact’ based on Carl Sagan’s novel, raises high marks.

If you were to ever sit and watch the movie with me, there is one particular point in the movie that I tend to get all excited about, and I start going on and on.

At least that’s what my family tells me.

If you’ve seen the movie, then you will remember the house that Ellie lived in with her father when she was a little girl. As soon as that house appears on the screen, I go back in time and recount to whoever will listen my connection with that very same house.

Well, believe it or not, I delivered newspapers to that house.

No word of a lie. I really did.

It was the summer of 1970, when my father had been contracted to deliver The Herndon Tribune, a free newspaper to the entire town of Herndon, Virginia, which had a population of around 3,000 people.

Now, you may ask me, how I can be sure that I delivered newspapers to that particular house.

I can be sure because I delivered newspapers to every single damn house in the town of Herndon Virginia.

Multiple times, and during every season.

My father had carefully planned maps where we broke up the streets and methodically delivered newspapers starting Friday after school, and right on till Sunday afternoon.

We roasted from the heat during the summer, and my feet turned to popsicles during the winter. I keenly remember dad trying to thaw me out at a MacDonald’s with hot chocolate which then cost a whole fifteen cents.

So for three days of hard work, I got $15.00 for my efforts, a lot of money for a youngster.

The newspaper came out every three weeks, so for seven months or so, I made a tidy little sum which I used to purchase my first portable television, (black and white of course) for $99.00.

So there you have it.

Looking back, not only was it was a good experience, it provided me with a story which I find myself recounting every time we watch that movie.

That being said, I would like to offer my gratefulness for a very patient family.

In closing, I have been all about Carl Sagan ever since the debut of COSMOS in 1980.

I have read his books, watched his interviews and shared his thoughts.

And so for me, ANY link to Carl Sagan….

…tenuous or not,

…is a good link.

