Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

And so 2014 now draws to a close…

One year ago, if you were to ask me who my favourite actor was my answer would have been Philip Seymour Hoffman.

And now over the past year we have sadly lost both Philip Seymour Hoffman and Robin Williams.

None of us saw the loss of these two men coming.

My daughter is a registered nurse and counsels people on how to deal with substance abuse and addictions. She tells me that people are often searching for the same high they encountered in their first drug experience.

The medical community calls this “Chasing the Green Dragon”.

I believe that all of us have or have had at least one green dragon or vice in our life. It could be drugs, gambling, alcohol, sex, smoking, or a multitude of other behaviours and traits that can easily wind up to be all consuming.

Some of us chase the Green Dragon.

Others run away from it.

And we never know what’s around the corner, or what day will be our last.

Not me, not you.

No one.

And I only say that because we have freedom of choice: The ability to make good choices, not so good choices, and deadly ones.

I’m grateful for Philip Seymore Hoffman and Robin Williams. Thanks to movie and computer magic, I will be able to enjoy their vast library of work for the rest of my days.

I can only hope that in death both Philip Seymour Hoffman and Robin Williams found the peace that had eluded them in life.

Everyone deserves peace of mind while they are still among the living.

Wouldn’t you agree.

On that note…

May all of your green dragons be banish-able ones.

