Tags

, , , , ,

Last night’s guest on CBC’s radio program IDEAS was stage director Peter Sellers who is best known for his controversial interpretations of Shakespeare’s works.

He was discussing what he’s learned about life so far.

It only took thirty seconds of listening to realize that I really liked what he had to say.

For example, his initial statement floored me:

“The world was not created based on what you like.”

That came as quite the reality check, as I tend to keep forgetting that from time to time.

I don’t know about you, but the first time I realized that the world was not based on what I liked was when I was very young and listening to my parents argue.

As a child I was caught in the middle of their unhappy relationship and of course, I had no control in what was playing out before my eyes.

If you think walking on eggs is hard, try walking on cracked eggs without completely annihilating them.

I got pretty good at it too.

However, these egg walking lessons served me very well in my adult years.

I became pragmatic and learned the importance of ‘two sides to every story.”

Of course, there are those who don’t like me for these same reasons but hey, I am a product of my own reality…

So are you.

I was around ten years old when I first asked my Mother why our family wasn’t as perfect and happy as television families.

It took her about fifteen minutes to set me straight.

Long story short, she told me:

Real families have real problems.

Deal with it.

Move on.

And so, I have no argument with the statement:

“The world was not created based on what I like.”

However, I would like to add my “second side” in keeping with:

“There are two sides to every story.”

And that is:

Since…

“The world was not created based on what I like”

then….

“I was not created based on what the world likes.”

So there.

Consider us even.

Deal with it.

Move on….

