Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was never one to travel lightly.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always gravitated towards the bigger purses.

My guess is that this yearning began when I was able to see how much my grandmother could fit into her handbag.

And it was a relatively small handbag too.

At any point in time she carried:

Family photo library
Roll of mints
Sewing kit complete with scissors
Bar of soap
A collapsable drinking cup
Your choice of shopping bags: plastic or nylon mesh
A pain reliever
Stationary and stamps and writing implements
All of her travel papers
Rubber bands, paper clips
Hand cream and cologne
Hand embroidered linen handkerchief and Kleenex
Plastic eating utensils
Shopping receipts
Money ledger booklet, wallet and change purse
Lots of ice cream money

…Yes, all that and more.

All this was carried in a highly organized pristine handbag which was never far from her side. Further, she could find you any of the above items in usually fifteen seconds or less. She never had to rummage through her purse either. She always knew exactly where everything was.

After she went into the seniors home, they cut her off coffee and salt because of her high blood pressure.

It was at about that time that she started carrying a small jar of instant coffee in her purse. She lovingly spooned it into her mug after they had brought her hot water and an herbal teabag. Needless to say, she got her own personal salt shaker too.

And as far as I know, none of these items were ever taken away from her.

After all, a woman’s handbag is considered sacred space.

Recently, after losing a paper notebook, I realized that the more I carried the higher the odds that I would eventually lose something.

It only makes sense.

The question is: Why didn’t I think of that years ago?

Granted, when it comes to losing things better to lose a paper notebook than a wallet, cell phone, or I-Pad.

By the way, the notebook I lost was found and returned.

So, I consider myself lucky.

Nevertheless…

I will continue my efforts to learn to pack a little more lightly.

After all, what have I got to lose?

