Tags

, , , ,

In my view, a brand new ball of sweetly coloured wool is a wonderful thing.

It holds so many possibilities.

Once I am introduced to a fresh hank of yarn, it’s important that I carefully consider what it wants to be.

A shawl?
Scarf?
Cowl?
Mitts?
Hat?

All the above are carefully considered and weighed.

There are times when I make a decision, only to have the yarn correct me shortly after the work has begun.

How is this done?

Usually in the form of a knitting error, where I have no choice but to start all over again.

Take for example my latest knitting project.

The fine and light merino yarn hand-painted with aqua tones and black marbling was first destined to become a simple triangle shawl with a picot edging.

I cannot tell you how many times I had to start over because I miscounted or was unhappy with the way the stitches were falling.

In the end, out of frustration, I abandoned the idea of a shawl in favour of a slouch hat.

Interestingly enough, a day later and the hat is now nearly half done with zero mistakes or misdemeanours.

How do I explain this?

I can’t.

I just accept it and move forward.

An object lesson, well learned.

If only more of life’s daily lessons were so easy to learn from.

