Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Does anyone remember singing?

No one ever seems to sing anymore.

There was a time when I couldn’t even walk to my fridge before a television variety show song cue introduced yet another famous celebrity singing a show tune.

But no more.

I know for a fact that there are lots and lots of fun little songs out there that can be sung alone or with someone else.

Singing was something people use to do to pass the time, to raise spirits, bring comfort, and to praise.

And who doesn’t enjoy a pretty melody from time to time?

One of my favourite joys are children’s shows which are always introducing youngsters to music. The lyrics are ridiculously easy to remember and they are humorous as well.

My kids were raised on Sharon Lois and Bram, the ones who gave us ‘The Elephant Show’ best known for it’s theme song:

‘Skinamarinkadink’.

If you have never heard them sing this song, then in my opinion…

…you have not lived.

Do yourself a favour and Google it one day. And while you’re at it be sure and look up their episode of when one of my favourite bands, THE NYLONS appeared on their show and sang “The Lion Sleeps Tonight.” Even Johnny Carson was bowled over with their version of that song.

And when I was young it was Sesame Street, Mister Rogers, Mr. Dressup, Howdy Doody, Captain Kangaroo, that got everyone singing.

Now, when I was a child, there was one song that was our personal family favourite. Every now and again my Father would reach back in time and dust off this wonderfully silly song decades later and take it for a test drive. Of course, I would always join in.

Grampa Schnitzel would both begin and end his half hour children’s show with these following tuneful lyrics:

‘The Schnitzel House’

“Is this not a little mouse?
Ya, this is a little mouse,
Is this not a Schnitzel House?
Ya this is a Schnitzel House,

…Little Mouse
…Schnitzel House

Inky dinky inky dinky
Inky dinky
Schnitzel House.”

You know, just writing that out gave me a tickle.

I really should take my own advice and sing that song every day.

Guaranteed happy thoughts…

Certainly, something this world can use a little more of.

