Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It isn’t often that you will find me posting recipes or cooking ideas.

However, there are times when I come across something that is too good not to share.

Many years back while still in high school, I went to my local library and borrowed a book called:

‘The Best Of Better Homes And Gardens Recipe Book’.

I was looking to broaden my limited teenage cooking repertoire.

What I found broadened my 1970’s sense of reality…

And it was quite legal too!

I came across a recipe called:

‘Pretzel Stuffed Chicken’.

Yup…

…any recipe calling for pretzels tends to grab your attention real fast.

I was intrigued and decided to give it a try.

Lucky for me, I was already quite adept on how to roast a chicken, so that left me able to concentrate on the pretzel stuffing.

Now, we all know how pretzels taste in their original form. The question was how would they taste when incorporated into a stuffing?

Let me tell you, I was quite amazed. Not only was the recipe simple, the taste and consistency of the stuffing rang all the culinary bells and whistles as far as I was concerned. The taste was totally unexpected and delicious.

For those of you who want to give this recipe a go, here are the basics:

Get a bag or two (depending on how much you will need) of pretzels. I recommend pretzels sticks as opposed to the regular shape because they are easier to crush.

Crush the pretzels as finely as you can. I used a rolling pin.

It served me well.

Peel an onion or two and fry it up in either butter or olive oil.

If you want, add your own herbs of choice and maybe even some pepper.

Apples and raisins too, if you’re feeling lucky.

No salt is necessary because the pretzels already have that in spades.

Now…

…stuff your chicken.

Long ago, I gave up actually stuffing the bird in favour of cooking it on the side. This made the implementation of a soup for the next day so much easier and hygienic. I don’t see why you shouldn’t be able to place the pretzel stuffing alongside.

I quickly learned that people like to make fun of the concept of using pretzels in your stuffing, so don’t say I didn’t warn you. You might want to tell people the ingredients for the stuffing, after they’ve tried it. Whenever I informed people before they’ve had the taste test, they quickly lost interest and called my cooking skills into question.

Alas, some people have no vision when it comes to pretzels.

Good luck and thanks for reading!

