Tags

, , , , ,

While sorting magazines at work last night, I came across one with Pope Francis on the cover.

I immediately deduced that it was yet another Italian magazine, of which there are hundreds.

Upon examining the cover, I realized that it was in English and not the usual Italian.

And so, I was able to read the headlines which were:

“How to Fast, Pray and Give” …

“Learn To Forgive”…

and “Understanding Real Presence.”

Personally, I could learn from any of these stories and I’m not even Catholic.

Certainly, these are concepts that are taught in many different faiths.

Upon occasion I ask myself:

“Am I happy?”

That’s a question which inevitably begs another question…

“What are my priorities?”

We educate our children in a variety of subjects, but where do they learn about achieving sustainable happiness?

Certainly, things like a loving family, a kind and loving partner, a good job bring happiness, but I do not believe that they can sustain happiness.

So, where do children learn the art of being happy?

Are they suppose to inhale this information somewhere?

Allow me to shift my attention to Bill Maher, a comedian and political pundit.

He has made his disdain on religion very clear.

Don’t misunderstand me, I like Bill Maher.

I have agreed with him on many subjects in the past and hope to again in the future.

However, I wonder how he would answer my question.

Hopefully, his answer has nothing to with pot, which he repeatedly implies brings him much happiness.

Hopefully, his answer does not involve money.

Certainly, the answer does not lie in fame.

Maybe…

Just maybe, there is a modicum of truth that it is better to give than to receive.

I believe that there is a lesson to be learned here. There is something to be said for looking outside your own wants and needs when it comes to personal fulfillment.

Some find happiness in volunteering.

Others find happiness by looking towards faith based organizations.

And there are those who have found happiness in creating and sharing their creations with others.

American writer Joseph Campbell once wrote:

“Follow your bliss…”

And I have.

Because I know that nobody else is going to do it for me…

…Or you either.

