Tags

, , , , , ,

While listening to CBC radio as I drove to work for my night shift earlier this week, I got some welcomed insight courtesy of one of my favourite music artists, Sting. He was discussing when he recorded his album TEN SUMMONER’s TALES which was recorded at his home The Lake House in Wiltshire England. The album was released in 1993.

Sting talked about the dynamics of his house, where the album was recorded. He also discussed his relationships to the people he was working with. All this contributed to the enormous success of the album.

It was then that he made the following point:

“You don’t finish anything, you abandon it at some point because you can carry on tinkering with it forever. I know when it’s time to abandon. If you suffer from perfection, you will never release anything. The end result is the tour, you put something out and it evolves. The actual recording is only a snapshot of a particular day or time.”

Listening to these words as I drove in the night I sensed a small shift in my thinking.

I could learn from these random words caught on the radio that night.

It’s a struggle to write on a daily basis. You want to do your best, but there comes a point when you must put the pencil down and let go of your work.

In my last year of high school, I wrote a small book of thirty poems over a period of about 6 months. Then on a daily basis I would go through each poem, word by word, adjusting this, changing that. It was a long and laborious process, a luxury which time no longer allows me.

Please consider this as today’s snapshot, as imperfect as it may be.

Hopefully, my writing will evolve.

Many thanks to CBC radio for their fine programming.

