Tags

, , , , , , , ,

image

Who knows what goes through the mind of a dog…

…or why?

Case in point:

When I was a teenager I had a Pomeranian dog. I named him Benny, after Elton John’s song Benny and the Jets.

I bought him as a puppy. He was red with a black nose. People told me that he looked like a little fox. He was adorable.

Most thankfully, Benny was a good and happy dog.

When I got married and moved to Nova Scotia, Benny came to live with me and my new husband.

We live in a modest little bungalow on the edge of a forest just outside Canadian Forces Base, Camp Greenwood in Nova Scotia.

A small public-school bordered on our backyard.

There was a pathway alongside of my house on which the little children would walk to and from school every day.

Benny was pretty good about the children and let them pass by undisturbed.

However there was a young brother and sister which for whatever reason peaked Benny’s interest.

I knew the exact moment that they were walking by the house on their way to school because it was the only time that Benny ever barked.

I could never figure out why.

One day I was in the front yard when the little brother walked by me on his way to school. He was not accompanied by his sister.

I found it interesting that Benny did not begin barking as he approached.

The little boy stopped and began talking to me.

“What’s your dogs name?” he asked me.

“His name is Benny.”

“Where’s your sister?” I asked the little chap.

“At home sick.”

“I’m sorry,” I answered. “I hope she feels better soon.”

“I like your dog,” the youngster said to me.

“I’m glad,” I replied.

“Your dog doesn’t like my sister though.”

I was suddenly intrigued by the little guy. He was telling me stuff about my dog that I wasn’t aware of.

“How do you know that Benny doesn’t like your sister?” I asked.

“The other day, me and my sister wanted to give him a cookie, and he let me give him my cookie.”

“That was very nice of you, thank you!”

“But when my sister tried to give him hers he wouldn’t take it.”

“Really?”

“No,” continued the little boy…

“… He just peed on it.”

My world came to a complete standstill as I mentally weighed what the little boy had just told me.

All these years later, I’m still wondering what was my dog thinking when he peed on that poor little girl’s cookie offering.

Then I think of that little girl.

I hope my dog’s actions didn’t scar her.

Nevertheless, it was by far the brattiest thing that Benny ever did…

…And I can’t stop myself from smiling every time I think about it.

