Tags

, , ,

image

I was in kindergarten when I first started printing the letters of the alphabet.

By grade one I could print sentences.

It was while I was doing my homework one evening that my Father noticed me holding the pencil in my left hand.

From that day forward, I was only allowed to hold a pencil in my right hand.

My Father explained that when he was a young boy in school, his teacher would separate the left handed students from the right handed students. Further, the left handed students were labelled as having poorer mental faculties.

There was no point in arguing. He was adamant that I write with my right hand.

My first attempts at writing with my right hand were awkward. With time however, I eventually got use to writing with my right hand.

However, every other activity, I continued to do with my left hand. This included throwing a ball, frisbee, even sewing.

When I grew into an adult, I finally felt comfortable enough to keep using my left arm even when my Father objected.

Then I wondered, what it was about my Father that made him so adamantly against me using my left hand.

The only answer I can come up with is ‘learned behaviour.’

He was taught to believe that it was unnatural for anyone to use their left hand.

I believe that racism, homophobia, and sexism is also learned behaviour.

So, as it happens I’ve been having a little problem with my left shoulder lately.

It’s getting harder and more painful to use, especially when I’m working.

And do you know what?

I think that this might be a good time for me to start using my right arm.

Maybe.

