Tags

, , , , ,

image

I am happy to announce that my family is planning a wedding which God willing, will take place in September of this year.

The last wedding that I helped plan was my Sister’s way back in 1984, so it’s been a while.

Thankfully, the traditional rules don’t really change. Further, the modernity of our age adds a certain leeway which allows for a more personal touch to suit the bride and groom’s individuality.

I was eighteen when I married, and my husband was nineteen. We recently celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary.

As my daughters were growing up, I often told them that it is a good thing to be an independent woman.

For once, they listened to their mother, and they listened well. My youngest will be thirty when she walks down the aisle.

My eldest daughter is content to remain independent as she continues her career as a registered nurse.

Through the years, I have made it known that I do not subscribe to the madness of big weddings.

Tell any artisan, merchant or vendor that you are planning a wedding and they immediately increase their profit margins tenfold.

Further, the stress is enough to drive anyone to madness.

When I decided to marry in the spring of 1977 I was content to carry out a small wedding celebration for immediate family only.

It was my Mother-In-Law who took it upon herself to bear what I and my family could not. And for this, I will always be grateful to both her, and my Father-In-Law.

So earlier this year, when it became evident that a wedding was in our family’s immediate future, one of the first things I did was begin wedding board on Pinterest which I lovingly and euphemistically titled…

“White Barf.”

This Pinterest board has led to others which highlight bouquets, centrepieces, and all things white and frothy.

However, these boards lack any sense of reality and financial responsibility.

That’s where this blog will come in handy.

I find myself looking forward to sharing the next four months with any of you who wish to follow along on our family’s mad adventure into what television’s most recent incarnation of Sherlock Holmes referred to as:

“The death-watch beetle that is the doom of our society and, in time, one feels certain, our entire species.”

I encourage you to tag along with me if you will.

I have no doubt that tears will be involved.

