Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today, as I got to work, I realized that I had done something that I rarely ever do.

I forgot my cellphone at home.

Well, that is to say, that I think it’s at home, in fact, I’m fairly sure that it is.

I did not have the phone with me in the car. Home is the last place where I remember seeing it.

Usually, I put it in my right jacket pocket. Until tonight, I have always ritualistically patted this pocket before leaving for work to make sure that I had the phone on me.

But not tonight.

I doubt that it fell out of my jacket pocket, as my pockets are on the deep side. Further, I know it wasn’t in the car or in my purse because a glowing red light on my watch indicated that the phone is not within the maximum ten feet of distance required to enable the Bluetooth.

Now, don’t get me wrong…

I am not a big fan of the telephone. Originally, the only reason I agreed to carry one is because of my thirty-six kilometre trek into work. It was my genie in a bottle in case my car breaks down. In fact, I have never reached even half of my quota for my monthly phone minutes.

What I do use it for is dictating my blog posts. It’s much faster than typing. Also, while driving to work, I enjoy listening to CBC radio program ‘Ideas,’ which is broadcast weekday nights from 9:00 to 10:00 p.m. I never get to hear the end of the programs because I have to report for my shift. Thanks to the podcasts, I can now listen to them in their entirety while I am sorting my mail at work.

Thankfully, I will not have to endure the usual “Where is my cell phone” angst as I believe it is waiting for me at home on top of the coffee table in my living room. This is where I enjoy my last few sips of tea before leaving for work.

So, tonight I am without my phone.

There will be no music or podcasts to listen to.

I won’t be able to take a picture should anything catch my eye.

No silly on-line gaming.

No checking my Twitter.

Last but not least, for the next eight hours, my family has no way to get hold of me.

Well, maybe that’s not so bad.

What I will miss Is the ability to be able to google random questions that tend to pop up from time to time…

Questions like:

Who was the original Ronald MacDonald?

In the television series ‘The Dick Van Dyke Show’ who were Rob and Laura Petrie’s neighbours?

What are the words to Billy Joel’s song ‘We Didn’t Start The Fire’?

How old is Jimmy Carter?

When I first realized that I was without my cell phone, the first thought that occurred to me was that tonight’s eight hour shift at work was going to be an interesting experiment:

How long would I last before I started getting phone withdrawal.

Would I get the shakes? Fidgety? Find it hard to breathe?

Well, we will just have to see.

(Six hours later…)

After finishing my shift and having arrived back home, I am happy to report that none of the above ever happened.

In case you were wondering, I found the phone on the sofa underneath a throw cushion.

It’s a good feeling to know that I was able to detach myself from my cell phone for a change

It was kind of nice.

In fact, I even got some overdue blog writing done.

