Tags

, , , , , , ,

image

It was a cold and rainy day.

But nobody cared.

Nobody cared because it was cake testing day at ‘Sweet Celebrations,’ makers of wedding and specialty cakes.

Aria, my daughter and bride to be, had arranged a consultation with the owner of ‘Sweet Celebrations.’ Charlene was to meet up with us in her shop for a taste testing of wedding cake possibilities.

Having never been to a cake testing before, I was curious as to how we were going to discern our way through the varieties of cake choices while being overcome by Charlene’s phenomenal French baking. There was also the high sugar intake that had to be taken into consideration.

I was willing to give it a try.

The bride-to-be, myself, and three bridesmaids braved intense thunderstorms along the forty kilometre trek of the QEW Highway that we collectively traversed through to get us to Stoney Creek.

Why would we choose a bakery in another city, you ask?

Because, Charlene’s cakes are not only extraordinary….

… They are ambrosia, the perfect fodder for perfect wedding day bliss.

Shortly after we arrived Charlene, the bakery store owner had us sitting around a table, with our forks in hand.

Then, the fun began.

On a large serving plate, Charlene brought out ten three inch square slices of cake.

This worked out rather well because there were four of us testing the cake; myself, Aria, and two of her bridesmaids, Amanda and Chantel.
Each of us would get a square corner of the cake. This was just enough for a single flavour burst.

After everyone had consumed their morsel of cake, I asked them to rate their preference on a level between one and ten. I would then write the preferences down and tally the totals at the end of the cake testing.

I explained to the girls, that in this manner everyone participates and has a voice. In the end after the cake scores are tallied, the cake with the highest score will be our choice for wedding cake.

Everyone agreed.

The cakes we would be sampling were as follows:

Key lime, Pistachio, Caramel, Goat Cheese, Red Velvet, Raspberry Champagne, Chocolate, Vanilla, Lemon, and Carrot Cake.

All were delicious, however, some were more delectable than others when one accounts for personal taste. For example, I was not big on carrot cake, while another taste tester didn’t like lemon.

(However, this particular carrot cake was the best I’ve ever had. I’m so tempted to order one for my husband, who has always loved carrot cake.)

In the end, the top scoring cake was the raspberry champaign with a high score of 32 out of 40.

The only drawback is that now I have to wait another two months before I can get my very own piece of raspberry champagne wedding cake, baked by hand from scratch in a Parisian pâtisserie.

Bliss…

I cannot wait.

image

