Tags

 

Three days ago while in the car with my husband, we pulled up to a local corner store. As he got out of the car I asked him to pick me up a package of postage stamps.

“I’ve been meaning to write out a few thank you notes,” I told him as he got out of the car.

Being the good husband that he is, a few moments later he was handing me a ten-pack of postage stamps.

Now three days later, the stamps are still laying unused on my coffee table.

As I was getting ready for work tonight I stared at those stamps and thought about the thank you notes I never wrote. Then my thoughts went to all the unwritten thank you notes that I’ve gathered in my life.

I have no doubt that I will eventually get some of those thank you notes written.

But unfortunately they never get written soon enough…

Or often enough…

There is a quote by John Burroughs that I like to repeat to myself from time to time.

It goes:

The smallest deed is better than the greatest intention.

I’m currently compiling some long overdue thank you notes to family and friends.

As you will see in the days and weeks ahead…

I have a great deal to be thankful for.

